Finalists for 2017 IACA Excellence in Currency Awards

Finalists for 2017 IACA Excellence in Currency Awards

The finalists are as follows:

Best New Banknote or Series

  • Reserve Bank of New Zealand – $5, 10, 20, 50, 100, New Zealand’s Series 7 polymer banknotes, named “Brighter Money”.
  • Central Bank of Seychelles – 25, 50, 100, 500 Rupee. The theme of the 4 new banknotes is Seychelles’ unique biodiversity with key endemic species portrayed on the fronts and backs.
  • Swiss National Bank – The new 50-franc note theme is «The Wind».  The inspiration behind the new Swiss banknote series is the many facets of Switzerland.

Best New Commemorative or Limited circulation banknote

  • The People’s Bank of China – China Aerospace Commemorative Note (Denomination 100 yuan), to commemorate the great achievements in Chinese manned space industry,
  • Central Bank of Oman – 1 Rial, designed to commemorate the 45th National day.
  • National Bank of Poland – A commemorative 20 zloty banknote to celebrate the 1050th Anniversary of the Baptism in Poland.

Best Banknote Processing Innovation

  • Banque du Liban – A Fully Automated Cash Transactions System (FACTS)
  • Cash Processing Solutions – DLR®7000 QC – a new approach to banknote quality inspection.
  • Giesecke & Devrient – SeriTrack™ Discovery, a flexible data analytics solution.
  • Innovia – A Guardian Recycling Program – establishing a network of regional recycling facilities in major geographical regions around the world.

Best Communications Program

  • Bank of Canada – Is she #bankNOTEable? A public consultation to select a Canadian woman who would appear on a bank note in 2018.
  • European Central Bank – four communication initiatives for the new Euro 20 and 50 banknotes: Direct Marketing, Partnership, Euro Run Initiative and the new 50 Euro film.
  • Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas – Information Campaign on the Demonetization of the Old Banknote Series.

Best New House Note

This is a new category of IACA award; it attracted 8 high quality nominations.   In honor of the 10th Anniversary of IACA’s Excellence in Currency Awards, the 8 nominated house notes will be exhibited by IACA at the Currency Conference.  The award winner will be determined by a vote of central bank conference delegates while in Kuala Lumpur.  The nominations are:

  • Arjowiggins Security: Higgs Boson note
  • Crane Currency: Moon Jellyfish note
  • De la Rue: Barn Owl note
  • Kurz: Colorful World “77” Dragon note
  • Louisenthal: Water note
  • Oberthur Fiduciaire: Five States of Matter notes
  • Polish Security Printing Works: Chess note
  • Consortium Jura, Landqart, Komori, GSI, Kurz: Lupo note