2022 Winners

Watch Video »

The International Association of Currency Affairs (IACA) is delighted to announce the Winners for the 16th round of its Excellence in Currency Awards as was presented at the Banknote & Currency Conference Tuesday, February 22. The winners were voted upon by the IACA members from a list of Finalists which were selected by independent judges in each category.

Best New Banknote or Banknote Series:
And the winner is: A TIE

Banco Central de Costa Rica and CCL Secure: Series B 2000 Colones, 5000 Colones, and 20,000 Colones Banknotes


Central Bank of Azerbaijan and G+D/Louisenthal: 50 Manat Banknote

The other Finalists in this category:

  • Banco de México: 1000 Pesos Series G Banknote
  • Qatar Central Bank and De la Rue: 5th Series of Banknotes

Best New Commemorative or Limited Circulation Banknote
And the winner is:

Bank of Namibia and CCL Secure: N$ 30 Banknote

The other Finalists in this category:

  • Banco de México and CCL Secure: 20 Pesos Commemorative G series, National Independence Bicentennial Banknote
  • Bank of Guatemala and G+D/Louisenthal: 20 Quetzales Commemorative Banknote
  • Bank Indonesia: 75 Years Independence 75.000 Rupiah Banknote
  • Monetary Authority of Singapore: Bicentennial $20 Commemorative Banknote

Best New Coin or Coin Series:
And the winner is:

Banco de México: 20 Pesos Commemorative Coins (Veracruz and others)

The other Finalists in this category:

  • Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas: 20-Piso New Generation Currency Coin
  • National Bank of Kazakhstan: 200 Tenge Coin

Best New Currency Innovation
And the winner is:

Vaultex UK: Green Path Campaign

The other Finalists in this category:

  • G+D/Louisenthal and Central Bank of Honduras: 200 Lempira Registered Security Thread